Apostilles may only be issued by a competent authority designated by the State (Bundesland) from which the public document emanates. The German Embassy is not able to issue Apostilles. If unsure which office can issue an Apostille in your specific case, please contact the authority in Germany which originally issued the document.

 The following contains a list in regards to authorized authorities:

Apostille Authorities in Germany

In the Federal Republic of Germany, the following agencies issue what is known as the “Hague Apostille”:

 1. Federal Documents

Bundesverwaltungsamt (Federal Office of Administration)

Section II B 4

50728 Cologne

Tel. 0228-99358 4100


Exception: For Federal Patents Court and German Patent Office documents, the Apostille is issued by the president of the German Patent Office.

2. German State Documents

In the German states (Bundesländer), jurisdiction is not handled in a uniform manner. For this reason, it is recommended in specific cases to inquire with the issuer of the document regarding who is able to issue the Hague Apostille. Generally speaking, the following bodies are competent authorities:

a) Documents of Administrative Authorities (except Judicial Administrative Authorities):

Interior ministries (senate departments), regional commissioners, regional administration;

in Berlin: State Office for Residence and Regulatory Affairs;

in Lower Saxony: Police headquarters in Braunschweig, Göttingen, Hannover, Lüneburg, Oldenburg, and Osnabrück;

in Rhineland-Westphalia: Supervisory and service directorate in Kaiserslautern;

in Saxony: State directorates in Chemnitz, Dresden, and Leipzig;

in Saxony-Anhalt: State administrative office in Magdeburg;

in Thuringia: State administrative office in Weimar.

b) Documents of Judicial Administrative Authorities, Courts of General Jurisdiction (Civil and Criminal Courts), and Nota

Justice ministries (senate departments), chief justices of state (administrative) courts.

c) Documents of Courts Other Than Those of General Jurisdiction:

Interior ministries (senate departments), regional commissioners, regional administration, justice ministries (senate departments), chief justices of state (administrative) courts.